Killing Orders

Standard

Killing Orders
Killing Orders by Sara Paretsky
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Victoria Iphigenia (V.I.) Warshawski is the daughter of Italian-born Gabriella Sestrieri and former Chicago police officer Tony Warshawski. V.I. is half-Italian, half-Polish, and 100% hard-boiled. A detective specializing in financial crimes, V.I. encounters everything from money laundering to murder, from the mafia to the monastery.

Of course, a hard-boiled detective is never scared. So what I was feeling couldn’t be fear.

Set in Chicago, in the wintertime, mid 1980’s. Lots of Chicago landmarks, payphone use, and cars they don’t make anymore. Will V.I. figure out who the good guys are, who the bad guys are, and will it matter?

I would have preferred the author waste fewer words pontificating on social issues. Because of her misplaced literary-activism, it took me a while to warm up to the main character. I eventually got the job done, but the experience turned an otherwise five star book into four.

“Remember: The only real social sin is to care what other people think of you.” ~ V.I. Warshawski

View all my reviews

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

