A Case of Lone Star

Standard

A Case of Lone Star
A Case of Lone Star by Kinky Friedman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Written in the Kinky Friedman vernacular, this book is a hilarious read, a colorful journey. Fun, splendid, you really ought to read it.

The Lone Star Café itself was practically an institution in New York, sometimes bordering on a mental institution. There was enough Irving Berlin’s White Christmas around on any given night to decorate a large nativity scene.

The setting for this murder mystery who-done-it is, well, the Lone Star. And private investigator Kinky is never at a loss for words, hard-boiled quips, or kinky-isms.

It was Thanksgiving in New York, and about the only thing I was thankful for was that I didn’t live in New Jersey.

I liked him so I always gave him a little extra rope. Figured he’d either hang himself or start up a rope factory.

‘I’m pretty busy,’ I said. Actually, I had enough spare time to macramé my nose hairs, but it’s never a good idea to let people in New York think you’re not busy.

‘Money may buy me a fine dog,’ I said with some dignity, ‘but only love can make it wag its tail.’

When he’s not solving a murder mystery you might find him “doing a little horizontal mambo” with Uptown Judy or Downtown Judy. The eccentric Kinky enjoys making coffee, lighting cigars, and talking to his trusty cat, Cat.

I put on my hat and coat, grabbed a few cigars for the road, and told the cat she was in charge while I was gone.

I sat up in bed and looked first at the cat and then at the clock. The cat yawned. The clock said nine-thirty.

“Zany!” that’s the word I was looking for. A great read. I really enjoyed it.

View all my reviews

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

