The Other Side of Suffering

Standard

The Other Side of Suffering
The Other Side of Suffering by John Ramsey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

On Christmas night 1996, six-year-old JonBenét Ramsey was violently murdered in the basement of her Boulder, Colorado, home while the rest of her family slept upstairs in their beds. Her father, John Ramsey, was placed under an umbrella of suspicion as being her killer. Her mother, Patsy Ramsey, who was battling ovarian cancer at the time, was publicly placed under that same umbrella. The Other Side of Suffering is John Ramsey’s story of the tremendous suffering and heartache he has endured in his life. But this is not just the story of a singular horrific event, and it is not the story you’ve heard over and over from the news media. It is, in a story never before told, John Ramsey’s personal journey of suffering, courage, and faith.

Extremely well written and filled with emotion, this book contains many sad and incredible stories told to illustrate John Ramsey’s journey through suffering and faith. Although I initially approached reading this book with skepticism, I soon found myself reading through tear-filled blurry eyes. By the time I had finished reading, I had openly wept several times throughout the book.

This book was written as an encouragement to those who might otherwise abandon their faith in God in times of crisis and tragedy. The author elucidates the fact that life is not always fair, life is not always easy, but God is always good.

People ask me how long it takes to get over the loss of a child. My response is, you never get over it. ~John Ramsey

View all my reviews

5 responses »

  1. When you put the news media aside, most of the circumstances surrounding the case of 96′ still shows involvement of the parents. I read this book, I know there was DNA on the child not belonging to the parents, however that doesn’t mean they were not involved in some weird stuff, the DNA on the child could have occurred at an earlier time, and can be a seperate issue.Afterall their statements were so contradicting, so very different from their original statements. Human behavior in a situation like this would have parents working with proper authorities to solve this crime. They did hide from police, behind their lawyers and other connections- what did they have to hide? Sift through the dirt, and look at actual facts! I see this book as an avenue to create more smoke and mirrors. He contradicts himself many times over, his fiction here is a failure. Just another stage within a stage. If he wants peace, there is nothing like the truth to set you free.

    • This wasn’t the only high profile case where lawyers took the avenue of destroying the credibility of the police department to make sure their client/ clients walked.

    • I too was skeptical about the Ramseys before I read this book, but after reading it I came to a different conclusion than you did. I tend to be wary of the news media and their tendency to sensationalize a story, so maybe my leap was not so far as your’s would have to be.

      • I good encyclopedia of facts to read on the Ramsey case would be “Jon Benet, Inside The Ramsey Murder Investigation”. Written by Steve Thomas. I don’t pay attention to the media, I like to follow the facts. Please read the book I just mentioned. I have read some books on this case in the recent year, I didn’t pay much attention to this case in the early years. I started checking into it for my upcoming classes. There are cases galore where the mother is responsible for the death of her child. It’s not so out of the question in this case that it was the mother. They, the parents subjected her to many people, it wouldn’t be unreasonable to think that the molestation issue is a seperate issue. I don’t have a ll the answers, I just wanted to share my opinions on this.

Leave a Reply

